Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

MSc Clinical Embryology Prize Winners

Each academic year, we confer the following prizes on selected MSc students. Prize winners are presented with their prize and a certificate on the last day of the course.


This prize is awarded to the candidate who displays the most focus, determination, improvement and consistency throughout the course. The prize is judged by the Course Staff and is sponsored by Oxford University Press.

2015/2016 Winner: Miss Shelby Sparby

Miss Shelby Sarby

Professor Sir Richard Gardner presenting the Achievement in Biosciences Award 2015/2016 to Miss Shelby Sparby.       








The Nikon Prize

This prize is awarded to the candidate who displays performance, enthusiasm, and motivation in micromanipulation practical sessions. The prize is judged by Senior Clinical Embryologists from Oxford Fertility and is sponsored by Nikon Instruments.

2015/2016 Winner: Miss Briet Bjarkadottir        

MSc Clinical Embryology prize winner

Professor Sir Richard Gardner presenting the Nikon Prize 2015/2016 to Miss Briet Bjarkadottir.        

Previous winners:

  • 2014/2015 (Year 7) Mrs Daria Svistunova
  • 2013/2014 (Year 6) Mr Thomas Wilkinson 
  • 2012/2013 (Year 5) Miss Charis Charalambous
  • 2011/2012 (Year 4)  Mr Yannick Ferreira
  • 2010/2011 (Year 3) Mr Christodoulos Christodoulou    
  • 2009/2010 (Year 2) Miss Bianka Seres   
  • 2008/2009 (Year 1) Miss Carol Ibe  

Prize for the Best Laboratory Research Project/Dissertation

This prize is awarded to the candidate who presents the best laboratory research project/dissertation and is judged by our Board of Examiners.

2015/2016 Winner: Miss Briet Bjarkadottir (see above)

Previous winners:

  • 2014/2015 (Year 7) Miss Helena Rodriquez Caro (Sponsored by Research Instruments)
  • 2013/2014 (Year 6) Miss Charlotte Walker (Sponsored by Eppendorf)
  • 2012/2013 (Year 5) Miss Siti Nornadhirah Amdani (Sponsored by VWR-Jencons)
  • 2011/2012 (Year 4) Dr Pedro Senra Estrela Melo (Sponsored by Microm Ltd)
  • 2010/2011 (Year 3) Mrs Sourima Biswas Shivare (Sponsored by Hunter Scientific)
  • 2009/2010 (Year 2) Mr Gustavo German  (Sponsored by VWR-Jencons)
  • 2008/2009 (Year 1) Miss Neeta Bala (Sponsored by Parallabs/Hamilton Thorne)